which cylinder to use for timing 89 454?

Started by jeno, June 10, 2015, 09:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jeno

i've been reading on the forum and it sounds like you use different cyl for timing i always thought i was number 1 cyl? i have never done this before so i have some questions. what should my timing be? i took off all the air pumps so what i have read the timing is retarded for emissions what would it be without it? if there is anything else you can tell me about the timing it would be greatly appreciated. as i said i'm trying to learn.

Froggy1936

On any engine that has an even no of clys ( wont work on a 5 cly)the one opposite no 1 on the cap will give you the same timing readings Frank
"The Journey is the REWARD !"
Member of 15 years. We will always remember you, Frank.

jeno

so on mine can i use the number 1 cyl? and if i can is it the one on drivers side front or passenger side front?

gpw9552

Use #1, Driver side front.  Google "timing a chevy 454" and there are about 4,000 + hits.

jeno

no#1 it is thank you i found on this site that 4 degrees btdc is the timing. is that still true with all the air pumps and everything off?

Rickf1985

Number 1 IF you can see the timing marks on the right side of the pulley. There is another set of marks usually on the lower left that can be seen from under the drivers side. I forget which cylinder this is, it would not be #6 which is the opposite of #1. That would be on the upper left side. I want to say #5.
Another thing to consider is that if you disconnected the EGR then you might have detonation if you advance the timing. Just try it but keep a sharp ear out.

M & J

I think it is #5 Rick if theres a timing tab below. Theres a pretty good thread on it somewhere on the site.
But that way makes it a 2 person job.
M & J

Rickf1985

Or one man if you need a lot of exercise getting up and down!

jeno