Water coming in from around roof air conditioner

Started by jwbspecial, January 27, 2010, 12:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jwbspecial

Sent: 10/24/2008

Im brand new to CWVRV and just purchased 1972 Brave   overall still good shape for age when looking at inside ceiling thought some moisture in it past but taken care of to big deal . Now since it rained yesterday we have water behind ac unit cant tell if water came thru ac unit or roof leaks it soaked 1/4 inch plywood strrofoam seems dry . Do I go to extremme replace whole roof or patch job  looking for input from anybody with roof experience  Im in minnesota maybe some local help or anybodys great wealth of knowledge

ClydesdaleKevin

Sent: 10/24/2008 
First pull the air conditioner shroud of the roof unit...that is the big white plastic cover on the roof.  See if the roof pan is full of water and not draining.  Some have a small drain hole, so look of it if its full of water, and clean it out with something.

If the wood is wet, it could just be a bad AC seal.  You can get a new one for about 30 bucks...which is a better way to go than just globbing sealer on the old seal.