Just joined.

Started by rcaircraftnut, January 06, 2011, 02:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

rcaircraftnut

Hi, my name is Jeramie. I am currently living in Portland Or. I am a commercial driver. I have over a million safe accident free miles in an 18 wheeler. I was a Navy electrician before that. I'm a pretty good mechanic, and do ALL my own repairs. This is usually out of being broke, haha. I found out 2 weeks ago that in 2 more weeks I wont have a home so I'm frantically looking for an RV. I figured if I have an RV I always have a Home. So I went today and looked at an 82 pace arrow, it was in a bad way wireing wise. Someone had tried to replace the turn sig sw with a universal strap on one. Hacked up the harness pretty good. Then I looked at a 71 Brave 22ft. The roof was being held up by 2x2s screwed to the cabinets. I pushed up on the roof and was able to easily push it up almost a foot. And ALL the wood and panelling was water damaged really badly. So I passed on the $750 asking price. Going to look at a 72 Starcraft Starcruiser 24 ft in the morning. $500 asking and from the pics it looks very good. But thats pics. If it is livable and runs/drives, Ill take it. Im sure you all will be able to steer me rite when it comes to fixin her up. Thanks and hope to be good friends with all of you.

Oz

As they say in baseball, "Good eye!" avoiding the bad "pitches".  You'll find something worthy, I'm sure.  And, just as you said, if you have an RV, you always have a home, you've got a home here too.
1969 D22, 2 x 1974 D24 Indians, 1977 27' Itasca

LJ-TJ

Welcome aboard Mate, There are some great rigs out there right now for some give away prices. DON'T BE HASTY. Two weeks is more than enough time to find some thing decent with in your price range. Check out the forums section under Craig list and E-bay.

JDxeper

Don't forget to take the RV Buyer's checklist, it helps to remember all the things to check.
Looks like you are learning real fast about water damage.

JD